Little Rock, AR – December 6, 2016 – The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation is pleased to announce Brent Venables is the winner of the 2016 Broyles Award. Venables, defensive coordinator and linebackers coach at Clemson, is the 21st recipient of the Broyles Award, given annually to the top assistant coach in college football. Coach Venables was honored, along with his fellow finalists, at a Tuesday luncheon at the Marriott Hotel in downtown Little Rock.

The 2016 Broyles Award finalists:

  • Alabama – Jeremy Pruitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Clemson – Brent Venables, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Colorado – Jim Leavitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Michigan – Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Pittsburgh – Matt Canada, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

The winner of the 2015 Broyles Award was Lincoln Riley, University of Oklahoma. The Broyles Award honors college football’s top assistant coach. The award was established in 1996 to recognize legendary head football Coach Frank Broyles. Coach Broyles had a track record of producing some of the most successful assistant coaches in college football history.

This year marks the first time the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation has presented the award. Proceeds from the 2016 Broyles Award will go to support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to educate, support, and connect with Alzheimer’s caregivers.

The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence.

# # #

You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook and Twitter. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on Facebook and Twitter